I notice that many Trump supporters are confused as to why so many people are frightened, after the results of the election. Please read this post from a friend of mine, a half Mexican woman working in the mental health field. It may help you understand why so many people are so upset right now–and it’s better to hear it from the POV of real Americans, and not just from the media:
“Today is difficult day to be a mental health counselor. One of the most important things we do in the room is bring hope to others, and right now I don’t know how I’m going to push through just how devastated I am in order to do that. Those of you who know me know that I’m a pretty optimistic and sunshiny person, and I just don’t have access to that part of myself right now. I am Mexican, and a woman, and it’s a hard reality to face to know that half the country does not believe that I am worth as much as they are.

The thing that keeps me getting through this day is seeing all of your support and love for each other during this troubled time and to see you declare your solidarity with individuals who might be going through a more difficult time than yourself. I’m so proud of your response, and so proud to count myself among your friends.

As a favor to me, if you are able to and you see someone who is having a hard time today please let them know that you see them both as a person and someone who has value in this world. If you aren’t able to, please allow yourself to be comforted by others, and take the space you need today to care for yourself. It might not feel like it, but you matter. Despite what the outcome of this election was and how you feel the world sees you and your worth, you matter to everyone around you, and you have value.”

Leave a Reply

