This makes me miss my days as a Lit Theory student. This is for any Potter fan that enjoys reading critically, with depth and thoughtfulness. I love the Potter series, but I enjoy a critical approach when it’s well expressed, and this is a great example of that.

No es un verbo

Reblog on Tumblr || Retweet

I feel like every time I talk about Harry Potter I have to start the conversation with, “I love Harry Potter, but…” in the way that one talks about a relative who used to get us good birthday gifts but now we realize are a bigoted piece of shit. It’s a too accurate comparison, since I’ve always felt that this series played as big of a part in my childhood as my family did. And, just like with many of my relatives, my relationship with the Harry Potter series is strained by the fact that I’m a woman who likes women, and JKR, like these subtly and not so subtly homophobic family members, doesn’t seem to like queer people very much.

To be fair, Joanne K Rowling doesn’t seem to like abuse victims, fat people, people of color or the mentally ill very much either…

View original post 2,616 more words

Leave a Reply

